Friday, July 29, 2005
The auditions....
My back hurts from lugging my heavy bass ard the streets of bugis....cram sial...hurts when i breathe....
Anyways, abt 2 months ago, Sofian and Donovan approached me...they asked what instruments that i can play coz they were thinking of joining Bandzout and so i said guitars n bass....well one things led to another and they asked me to play bass for their band coz they cldnt find anyone to play the bass....and so i tot wat the heck...n i joined.....
So i was there juz to make up the numbers...and so after 1 session, we figured that we needed another guitarist....and so i brought in Has....and so the line up became me on bass, Has and Don on guitar and ian on drums......till one day Has din bring his guitar along and was tempted to play the guitar and somehow, it sounded really nice.....we played a medley of Cranberries' Zombie and Marilyn Manson's version of Sweet Dreams....so there wasnt much keyboard in there but Has made the songs his own wif his creativity....he's damn good at keyboard....and so it was decided that he stick to keyboard and we went out on a search for another gitarist....
Meanwhile, as we were playing Zombie, a female vocalist was essential and so after so many rejections by Yana, Shahirah(duno who this person is) and a few others, Dila agreed but due to tym constriction, she had 2 bow out....
And so in desperation, i stepped in and tok to yana and somehow manage to convince her to join even tho she claim she cant sing...and by this tym, ian said he was asking a guy name Fahmy to play the guitar but fahmy seem to have some doubts and so ian introduced him to me by saying "he's the leader, wateva juz ask him" and i was lyk....speechless, i tot i was juz along for the ride, how the hell did i become the leader....and so somehow they(Ian, Don and Has) agreed for me to be the leader...
And to summarize things up, the line up became Me on bass, Ian on drums, Fahmy and Don on guitars, Has on keyboard and Yana wif the vocals....the name Tinnitus Effect was decided upon.....For those who duno wat it means, its the ringing effect u get when everything suddenly become silent....it happen to Ian and he came up wif it...i was gg for 'The The' or 'The What" or better still...'What The' hahaha.....
Niways, to be honest, to me, we're not really that gd...wif exception of Fahmy and Has of coz...they are quite gd in fact, especially Has...the others had potential...especially yana as she have a very unpolished voice....Niways after a few sessions, we finally gelled together and got better....
But still, i knew we had stiff competition....so i din expect much even tho i knew Abu who is a fren of mine was one of the judges...so i really din expect much...
Then the faithful day came, 27th July...the day of the audtions...and we sucked...hahaha....the reason, they tot we were given tym to practise which was actually our audition tym...so they din really play to their full potential....a case of miscommunication....and from their reactions, i knew they were pissed at themselves and the judges coz they judges seem really uninterested at our song...in fact, we were stopped 3/4 thruout the song due to tym limit....
So, as i was the leader, i msg them saying "Yo guys, thank you for all the effort u put in this and sorry for all the inconvinience leading up to the auditions. Keep in touch k, TC" coz some of them really had some personal problems which i wont mention here.....and later that nite, i got an sms from the organizers that results will be out the next day, 28th july....
And so the day came....i din receive any calls or sms at all...in fact i really din expect any coz i expected rejection....and so i prepare myself of what 2 say 2 my disheartened members...and this was what i cld think of..."Guys, sory to give u the bad news but we din make it...but dun be down coz i noe we din get to show our full potential but u guys did good..." i felt as a leader i had to somehow try to break the bad news in a gd way....to cheer them up....
And so finally, this was what i msged them "Erm guys....we got thru...."
Outz...
Once again, i sit by the sidelines and watch ur leading ur life happily and i realise thats wats i will always be to u, a spectator....i accept that fact now but dun blame me if i cant forget u in that way coz i cant help this feeling i have for u....but im glad that u're happy....tc....
Shad checked in on...Friday, July 29, 2005